The hill

The hill

A few months back I started riding a bicycle to the train station and back each day. One part of the route I can’t avoid on the route is the steep descent into the valley. Physically it’s downhill so no effort but mentally quite demanding. I rise early and it’s dark and all I have is a tiny light to show me what’s ahead. There have been a few near misses with Foxes, Possums, spider webs and fallen branches. You have to concentrate and draw from limited information to make progress. Downhill is challenging but achievable.

The way home is uphill and for the first few weeks I had to dismount and walk. I was convinced this would be normal, after all, I’m no athlete and I’m getting older.

But then I tried.

I failed.

The next day I tried again, got further but failed.

The day after I tried again and got halfway before I could go no further.

Fast forward two weeks…

One rainy afternoon I made it, exhausted to the top of the hill. I had no energy to appreciate the achievement. I needed to keep going to get out of the rain.

To paraphrase Ian Fleming “Once is odd, twice  is a coincidence and three times is a pattern” The climb up that hill has become a pattern most days of the week. so has the descent.

