Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

Okay, I have been reading something a little different for the last few days. Marie Kondo’s “The life changing magic of tidying up: The Japanese art of decluttering and organising”

Oddly enough there are several take aways from this book that apply to photography, particularly when it comes to editing images. Here’s a quote that stood out for me;

To truly cherish the things that are important to you, you must first discard those that have outlived their purpose. To throw away what you no longer need is neither wasteful or shameful

There are images that I have retained that will not be shared or printed and which may have already given me what they can. Approaching the process of culling my images with this mindset will have a profound affect on what remains at the end of it.

I may also end up with a tidy desk…

For this week I have work by Alicia Savage, and Sam Faulkner. Two completely contrasting styles.

Listening to some new Katie Noonan and Luna Grand.

 

