Old glass

Old glass

Continuing with the theme of putting odd vintage lenses onto modern digital cameras this week I took the screw mount 50mm prime from off an old Praktica SX SLR  sitting on my shelf, gave it a clean and tried it out.

The results were what I would expect with sharpness and contrast being particularly noticeable. The softness is not necessarily a bad thing unless you want high fidelity. In hindsight should have taken a newer lens with me and repeated the images for comparison but the weather just closed back in.

Older lenses are far more compact compared to their all singing, all dancing autofocus cousins but they are more tricky to fine focus unless you do so with the aperture open at 2.8. I can see the attraction for digital natives that never really used film or manual focus cameras. Having grown up with that technology I found this more nostalgic than novel.

