An unexpected reunion

An unexpected reunion

The process of helping tidy up my parents house sparked one project around the worn down tools I found there but it also may have led me back to my roots from a photographic perspective.

You see, a small bungalow at the back of the house had become a free family storage facility, particularly for my nieces, many of whom are have only just started settling down. Among the various old furniture and other items were several boxes of darkroom equipment and an enlarger, most of which I had bought 30 years ago when I started out. I had given them to one of the nieces when she took up photography but she has no time now and they wound up being stored.

So those boxes came home, the contents were carefully inspected and the trays and other wet gear cleaned. While doing that I made another discovery. The room I was using for this task did not exist when I first moved in. It was a bathroom but got converted to a washroom for my Wife’s ceramics studio (a story for another time). It has two very large sinks, an exhaust fan and no windows, making it almost the perfect darkroom.

This combination of discoveries opens up the possibility of more hands on printmaking once a few small hurdles are overcome. As my studies come to an end soon, there will be the time to invest in this as a project. It has certainly given me something to think about as the current project comes to a close next week.

