Project update – Abandoned and worn

Project update – Abandoned and worn

The work is at a point where I can start on the series of abstract macro images. The previous posts give an idea of what I’m looking at doing but I may get even closer. The only problem with that is minimum working distances get smaller and lighting is more tricky. The title image this week was very close up and will need more light when it comes to the final image. That light needs to be soft enough to reduce hard shadows but bright enough to allow a smaller aperture and get a sharper result.

The second series of images is proving to be more difficult. What I saw was each tool being held to add a human element. My hands lack the necessary character to complement the weathering and rust but they are what I have to work with so I have a couple of ideas to try out. First will be to get them pretty dirty, the second will involve an in camera double exposure. Sure, I could do two images and merge them in post. I may still go down that road if it leads to a better result.

 

