The Diced Imagery Project update for January 2015

The Diced Imagery Project update for January 2015

This is more of a general update on how things are going and how the project will roll out over 2015.

Normally I would be posting some results and announcing new themes for next month but unlike previous years I won’t be putting a rigid time limit on project themes. The original intention behind that was to motivate me to make more images but now I want to focus on better concepts and technical execution with fewer themes.

My plan is to keep working on abandoned and worn as a primary activity until March rather than rushing to get something completed each month.  This month has been just about looking at the objects I collected and thinking about options. One approach is a series of more abstract images and what I have shared in previous updates will give you some idea of what the final results could be like. I also want to take an almost environmental portrait approach and have images that include some context along with the complete object. I expect to have this planned out so I can start work on the final series of images from February.

Ideally, this more relaxed schedule will work out as one theme per quarter or four for the year.  There are six themes and two I consider to be ongoing and useful for filling any gaps between themes. The “Textures and Details” theme is something I am always looking for wherever I go. Likewise, “Places” is a regular subject of previous posts. Having both of these in reserve gives me something to go to if I get stuck or exhaust all the options for a theme before time is up.

This week’s title image from the same initial session as the previous images. It’s a handle from a smaller hand tool found in one of the old garden beds.  By the time I got to look at this item it was late in the day and the light was failing. I had the aperture wide open at 2.8 so I could still hand hold the camera. I think the right lighting will help bring out the tiny cracks and wear and allow me to use a smaller aperture and improve the sharpness. That said, I like the shallow depth of field in this image.

