Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

Before I talk about things I saw and heard this week, I want to talk about something that made me see red.

It started with a pretty innocent email via a LinkedIn account from a recruiter offering to review my resume for free. Sounds pretty good right?

tracie

Meet Tracie the friendly recruiter

Anything “too good to be true” is a trigger for me to get suspicious. There was something off about the profile photo too so I used a neat trick in Chrome browser to do an image search. This is a handy thing for photographers who want to check if their images are being used on other websites. All you do is right-click on the image and select Search Google for this image. Google will go off and find matching images and display them like so.

not-tracie

Something’s not right here…

It turns out Tracie is not just Tracie. She is in fact 100% fake, a composite of other people’s features. It’s a scam run on many social media networks and there are a number of reasons for doing it. It relies on people wanting to find work and those needy folks that crave more connections or followers without caring enough about who they are to do some simple checks.

Burying your router, donning a tinfoil hat, hiding under the bed and never, ever going online will prevent this from happening but I prefer to be informed rather than afraid. There is a lot of information about how online scams work that is free and easy to understand.

Stay Smart Online is an Australian Government initiative. The FBI has some advice too.

Now that I have that off my chest here are this weeks finds

Sarah Silver has a set of images called movement, using dancers and a range of techniques. I like the slow shutter synch flash and there are several featuring water splashes.

Sohei Nishino Has taken thousands of images of different cities and combined them to build remarkable cityscapes.

 

What have I been listening to?

Bollywood meets Bond in the form of local Melbourne band The Bombay Royale

