Making and managing a mess

Making and managing a mess

Right now my desk is covered in “stuff” and the rest of my study is not much better. I have been pulling things out of drawers and off of shelves to do a little reorganising of my workspace before Summer school starts next week.

Admittedly, I’m not the tidiest person in the world but I find a clear workspace is less distracting. That extends to things in the immediate vicinity “put away” on shelves or in drawers. The problem is I still know the stuff is there and that it represents something I haven’t dealt with. More than once I have found myself unable to concentrate because my attention is pulled towards items on a shelf nearby. A lot of it is just clutter, accumulated over the last few years because my preoccupation with study took precedence over everything except work, leaving little energy for anything else. This semester, the study and work commitments were less taxing so I decided to make this break all about working out whether or not I actually need all this stuff and how best to manage it. Once that is done I can look at making better use of the space freed up.

As I worked through this mess today, I also thought about the project this blog is all about and realised the monthly themes I use have served their original goal of making me use my camera more. They are now clutter, just like the stuff around me, distracting me from what I want to focus on next. This raised the question of what that next goal is and how to use this project to get the focus where I need it.

This is going to need more than a week to work through. It makes sense to stop using the themes after next week and use the next two to three months on planning that next step. Meanwhile, I will still get out and make images to share, so not much will change.

