Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

The year marches on and I have arrived at the end of another semester. I can see the end in sight and now I need to start thinking about what’s next while preparing for the last six months of coursework. High on the list is enrolling in a studio portraiture workshop and I am trawling the interwebs looking at options. In the meantime I continue to look at portfolios but I have also included a somewhat eclectic mix of other things this week.

Tania Brassesco & Lazlo Passi Norberto have a creative partnership that produces some excellent images from classic themes.

Joel Pares uses photography to explore cultural issues. The judging America images are well thought out and executed. Pares pays great attention to detail.

I also found this really interesting video presented at TEDx Cambridge by photographer Peter Hurley and Psychologist Anna Rowley. They raise some interesting questions about how people feel when being photographed and about self-image.

Moving from what is in our heads to what we do with our hands, here is a video of a Japanese master craftsman at work. I really like watching people make things and have a selection of videos bookmarked as I find them somewhat addictive. For anyone interested in traditional Japanese crafts the Sendai Traditional Crafts site is worth a look.

One of the things that attracted me to photography in the first place was the act of making prints. I think the physical aspects of photography have changed markedly since digital and this is particularly noticeable when it comes to printing. Back in the day, watching an image appear from nowhere under the glow of a dim red safelight felt very satisfying. Watching the inkjet? Meh… Not so much.

My darkroom gear was loaned out a few years back and currently sits in storage. I could probably get it set up pretty quickly but I suspect I may be suffering from nostalgia and that the reality of hot, stuffy, smelly darkrooms is perhaps best left in the past. That said, the discomfort I experienced was part of what connected me to the final image. Maybe the lack of connection to digital printing is why I don’t print much these days.

Listening to some new Foo Fighters

