Time of day

Time of day

I had a lot on this week. A final paper to draft for the semester, a few deadlines for work and a two day conference Thursday and Friday. The conference was held in the Docklands precinct of Melbourne so that provided an opportunity for some photography that I could not pass up. I know the area fairly well so I got in shortly after sunrise on Friday just as the light was clearing the top of the office buildings. I got a mix of images and it was interesting to see the colour temperature change over the 40 minutes I was there. Unfortunately, the starfish was already being fought over by a couple of Seagulls on the pier and was sadly beyond help.

After the conference wrapped that afternoon I decided to go back and see how the light direction had changed the scene. This was a much shorter session as my camera battery gave out and after two days of walking around the conference venue, talking to colleagues and listening to presenters I was pretty drained myself.

It wasn’t until I got the images up on a monitor that I was really able to appreciate the different qualities of light and shadow. Although many photographers insist that best light is found during those times around sunrise and sunset, other times can work too. Time of day does affect the direction and quality of light falling on a scene but rather than avoiding certain times entirely, I tend to look for subjects that lend themselves to the available light or for the right light to create the look I want with certain subjects. If I want high contrast with hard shadows then I will seek the time of day and conditions that deliver that.  This was a great opportunity to rework a subject as the light changed and if I had the endurance (and a spare battery) it would have been good to get the sunset and twilight. That said I’m just happy to have been so busy and still find time to make images.

