Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

Building any body of knowledge is hard work and once you do it you have to maintain what you have built.

I returned to University part-time  in 2010.  I know from previous experience that as I approach the finish I feel more tempted to walk away, even though I only have 15 months of study to go. I start to question and doubt my decision to do this. My motivation evaporates and the work becomes an unwelcome set of chores.

I can already see signs of this, like not caring about lower grades for papers. I got through last time with a determined resolve to complete the qualification and lied to myself that I would never undertake such a commitment ever again. In “The War of Art” Steven Pressfield describes this as the Resistance, a force that  exists solely to help you fail at things. You have to fight it to succeed in any endeavour.

It’s that decision to push on  and through that I wish I could better harness for my photography. I seem to be slipping here too, not getting out or even just playing. I probably should conserve my energy and focus on study but photography gives me more satisfaction. Fighting a war on two fronts is poor strategy but I know at least one of the battles will end in June 2015, so I choose to push myself onwards to victory!

So now I have that off my chest let me share some work from people that have overcome their resistance.

Light painter Eric Pare

Some landscapes by Killian Schoenberger 

Jamie Johnson is a commercial photographer but her personal projects and documentary work interest me greatly.

Listening to…  The Martin Bailey photography podcast 

