Everything new is old again…

Everything new is old again…

I suppose I’m talking about progress and revisiting the past.

The image for this post was made to look like something I did in the early 1980’s with push processed Kodak tri-x pan. Getting this right involved weeks of work to learn and perfect the exposure and processing details and there were plenty of failures. The result was moody and grainy.

I recall what it would have taken for me to get this effect in Photoshop 2 back in the 90’s. It had a lot fewer bells and whistles than it does now. No actions, history or layers. I probably would have resorted to doing a composite for the sky.  Perhaps half a day or more would be required.

In fact this image was made with an iPhone last week and from there put through an app called Intensify and selected a preset. All up an investment of just 10 minutes.

We have it so good right now. We can make so many more creative choices and follow different paths using the same image without the massive time investment. While I’m obviously grateful for that, I also appreciate what the past has given me, namely patience,   the skill to pre-visualise images and do a lot more in camera before pressing the shutter, rather than relying on post processing. This was borne out of the effort required to make good images when I started out over 30 years ago. I learnt through failures and I wonder if this is still possible for new photographers since digital has reduced the cost of failing to practically nothing?

 

