Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

Completed one exam, two workshops and now a new semester of Summer school starts this week. My unread pile continues to grow, I’m tired and perhaps a little stressed but I don’t mind.

I realised I have been focussed too much on my own issues and that getting some perspective was necessary, so that is what I have been looking for this week and I hope you get something out of this too.

It started on Twitter when I saw a number of photographers retweeting an appeal to fund a wheelchair for Jaleel King. I looked into it and this is simply a great story of the human spirit.

Fearless Jaleel King: Against All Odds from Mike Allebach on Vimeo.

Reading Jaleel’s blog I found links to the Help Portrait project. It is a really simple idea best explained in this video.

I cannot see a Melbourne group that is active at the moment and I’m not in a position where I can spare enough time to volunteer to start one right now but I will be donating to this with the intention to put more effort in after I graduate. If you read this and you decide to kick something off where you are, leave a comment so I know I did some good this week. Do we have a deal?

I also got to look at some classic portraiture by Philippe Halsman  Hollywood stars in black and white.

Listening to…  Katie Noonan cover a Neil Finn classic.


