Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

 

I bought an actual physical book this week. I mention that because it has been a while and it’s not something I do very often as I appreciate the portability of ebooks. This is well worth making an exception for.

Portraits Steve McCurry is just that, a book of portraits but they are beautiful, engaging and powerful. If the cover image looks familiar it may be because it was a National Geographic cover and the subject, an Afghan refugee became associated with the Soviet occupation of Afghanistan in the 1980’s.

If I could be less than half as good as this guy at making images of people, I would be well pleased. His blog is well worth a visit too.

It took a slightly different path for listening this week. The Crucible is a collection of reworked songs by Hunters and Collectors,  a Melbourne band that has a distinct sound. The Eddie Vedder Neil Finn cover of throw your arms around me is a treat.

 

