Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

I am really enjoying Photography Q&A by Zack Arias. I should have finished it by now but I keep rereading sections. I don’t have aspirations of becoming a professional photographer but for anyone who does, this is a must read.

A new ebook published by Digital Photography School joined my reading pile this week. Portraits: Lighting the shot by Australian portrait photographer Gina Milicia. I have two other portraiture books written by Gina and they are well presented and full of good examples and advice.

Plus three more from ebooks from Craft and Vision. Lightroom 4 unmasked by Piet Van den Eynde. (Yes, thought I should learn Lightroom 4 before upgrading to 5!) Sharp Shooter by Martin Bailey and Up close by Andrew S. Gibson.

There are some new blogs I’m following too. Thank goodness for RSS and Feedly.

Guess the Lighting This is basically about pulling an image apart to see how it was lit.

Nythroughthelens New York based photographer Vivienne Gucwa.

For Listening I picked up the Craft and Vision podcast

This week’s title image comes from the front of a restaurant in Little Burke St Melbourne.

