Walking around and thinking

Walking around and thinking

One of the byproducts of going out and making photographs is that time between images, when you get to think while you walk along. It can be quite reflective or critical depending on how the day is going.

Fortunately, my inner critic and I have come to an agreement that it is to remain quiet unless it is absolutely convinced it is right. If it was not for this arrangement, I might never venture out further than my driveway.

You may have your own inner critic. Has there ever been a time when one of these messages popped in your head while using your camera?

Why bother? It’s been done to death.

Better check all those settings again. You probably screwed them up. 

The light’s not right, pass on it.

Why keep going? There’s just more of the same around that bend.

Annoying aren’t they?

One of the reasons I started the Diced Imagery project was to overcome resistance and those messages coming direct from the leader of the resistance, my inner critic. I started doing two things. I stopped listening my inner critic and when that failed I rephrased those comments into something I could work with and through.

What can I do to put my stamp on this theme?

What might I discover if the settings are not what I intended? 

What else could I try in this situation right now?

I choose to keep going  because I know there are more opportunities and possibilities around that bend than back home on the couch.  

The tools that got me through the barrier my inner voice had trapped me in were “The war of art” by StevenPressfield, “Reframe” by Eric Knight and “The flinch” by Julien Smith. I highly recommend checking them out if you have an inner critic fencing you in.

I also have this Zack Arias video that I play every time I feel a little lost. It lets me know I’m not alone in this. Neither are you.

