Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

It’s been a busy week so not much to report on…

I seem to be spending a lot of time at the City library lately. They contacted me to say my reserved copy of the documentary Annie Liebovitz: Life through a lens was in. It was well worth the wait. What a remarkable career and life. Then there is the body of work spanning so many genres, documentary photo journalism, portrait and fashion.

Lindsay Adler is a commercial fashion and portrait photographer. She also writes and her latest effort Shooting in shitty light is now in my Kindle app. Here is a short video that will give you an idea of what to expect.

I’m looking at a very broad spectrum of portraiture styles at present. Some I like more than others but almost all of them lend me something that gets me one step closer to overcoming my reluctance to photograph people.

 

“Art begins with resistance – at the point where resistance is overcome. No human masterpiece has ever been created without great labor”. 

Andre Gide

2 thoughts on “Looking and listening this week

  1. Hi Antionette,

    At the heart of it photographers can be control freaks. We want a image a certain way. What I like about this book is it is helping you have some control of a situation that would normally be outside your control. It opens up possibilities to make images in places you would not normally consider using.

    I have set this book aside for the moment because I am still really enjoying photography Q&A by Zack Arias. This book covers technique and mindset and is a fresh perspective on being a photographer. Consider adding them both to your reading list!

Comments are closed.