Looking and listening this week

Looking and listening this week

It amazes me when someone takes time to like or comment on what I do. Not just for the acknowledgement but because of the unexpected learning opportunities that open when you see what that person is doing.

Antoinette Clare Mallon is just starting out as a photography student and there are two things that caught my eye. This creative exercise of looking both ways through a window is simple but brilliant.

Antoinette also has good technique and I recommend that anyone wanting to shoot glass look at her portfolio for inspiration. She has a great sense of composition and colour.

Another like for my last post came from a young Scottish soprano Charlotte Hoather. I know that opera is not everyone’s cup of tea but I admire and respect people with the dedication and ability to undertake professional training in any creative discipline. Watch one of her performances and perhaps you will be swayed.

It is my belief that creative people are all students. We explore our chosen discipline by making mistakes, rediscovering old things and by making new things. That we get to share this with other like minded people, regardless of age, experience or location through this medium is remarkable.

2 thoughts on “Looking and listening this week

  1. Yes, we learn a lot while looking at fellow photographers shots and make honest critical comments. Unfortunately, most of the time we get not very helpful feedback like nice, great, cool, fine, etc. This is the sad reality. 😦

  2. Hi Robert,
    I guess there is a fear of offending and an art to delivering good constructive criticism without coming across as a troll. I think it’s important to see if someone wants more than a well done and can understand in providing feedback it only applies to the work and not the person. I tend to look at things and start by asking “Is there anything you would do differently if there was the opportunity?” It opens a way to explore aspect of an image and look at what worked well and what didn’t. It’s something I apply to my own work and it enables me to revisit themes with different approaches and embrace my mistakes!

Comments are closed.