Revisiting the black stump

Revisiting the black stump

One off the joys of revisiting subjects is that I keep seeing different things.

I was back at Gisborne today and the burnt out tree I found a few months back. I still couldn’t get the side lighting I wanted to bring out the textures of these different surfaces more. There was also a slight fog that diffused the light. I now have several compositions that I can keep exploring in the hope that one day the lighting grazes the side and gives me the contrast I’m seeking.

My concern in getting this shot is that what remains of the tree could be pulled down at any time, so waiting several months for the sun position to change may not be an option.

I will keep returning for as long as I can to unpack as much I can.

DSC_0085

DSC_0121

DSC_0140

DSC_0098

