Where did April Go?

I have 3 new images up on 500px and they have been well received.

The countdown says just eight days left. I will need to dig deep this week to get my total images up from last month.

Here are my picks for the month.

DSC_0083

There was an odd image in the roll of the Story cubes for this month. It looks like a spiked wheel and I had no real idea of how to interpret it. Perhaps that’s why it stuck in my head and popped out to say hi when I came across an old post with several generations of barbed wire wrapped around it. I liked the strong diagonal and that almost monochrome feel, apart from the rust.

DSC_0057
I found a pine cone on the same walk and the red on top stood out. The cone was framed by fallen twigs that I decided to include. I’m counting it as a tree related image.

15 inch wrench study
This wrench is huge! Almost the length of my forearm. It was sitting on my desk after using it to fix a leaky tap and I decided to play with some off camera flash. This was my favourite image. I just like how the low angle lighting creates dark moody tones. I will refine this shot by using a more textured piece of wood as a background. I want to continue this theme of hand tools but actually get some hands in the shots. There is a local Men’s Shed that I need to contact first.

So, three images in the bag this month and there are now habits forming that I really like. I’m now looking with my photographer’s eyes for new locations and objects I can work with. That was one of the aims of the project and perhaps more important than a monthly score.

