A perfect photographer’s day

I had a really good day off yesterday that I want to share with you. I got to take photographs and see the work of photographers all in one long day.

Image

The day began with an early train into Melbourne so I could take some images before dawn. I was inspired not just by my experiments with timed exposures yesterday but with some images taken by Trey Ratcliff and the Melbourne Google plus Photowalk community late last year. I had a 30 minute window before sunrise so there was not time to cover a lot of ground. I also had to conserve some energy for the rest of my day.

Image

 

I had tickets to see three exhibitions at 2 different galleries which are just a short walk from one another

Radiance – The Neo-impressionists

Radiance made me think about how we as photographers obsess with eliminating grain, or in digital parlance noise from our images. The style of these works relied on specific application of small spots of colour and they were designed to be viewed from a distance. I liked getting up close and looking at the texture though.

Thomas Demand – Artist site

The Thomas Demand exhibition was an unknown as I got it as part of a ticket bundle. The first image was called clearing and is was a beautiful large image and it looked amazing. Then an attendant passed on a brochure and explained the scene was completely constructed out of card… as was everything else on display. Demand creates the construct, photographs it and then destroys the original. Like the post impressionists, the work looked amazing from a distance and then revealed its secret as you got closer. There was also some animations like Rain that really had me enthralled.

I stopped by the bookshop and got a copy of Steal like an Artist by Austin Kleon. It has been on my Amazon wishlist for some time.

Jeff Wall – images via google image search

I finished up walking over StKilda Rd to Federation Square and the Jeff Wall exhibit. My legs were starting to complain, so I may have rushed through it but I didn’t find it as inspirational as I had hoped. Don’t get me wrong, these are good images but I just didn’t feel any connection to them. The lighting was very reminiscent of Rembrandt and the style was clearly influenced by classical painting.  There was a dark and gritty theme to the images and lot of detail/clutter by way of objects appearing in the sets. Most of the images were made indoors but Sudden gust of wind (after Hokusai) stood out for me. It had a an element of whimsy and timing to it that I liked.

