You can’t go back

I first visited Trentham falls in the late 80’s early 90’s and last week I went back after 15 years. I was quite looking forward to it but wound up disappointed. I could only manage a few images and the best of those was pretty bland.

Image

They key issue for me was accessibility. Originally there were paths to the top and base of the falls and you had a great deal of flexibility and choice when looking for the right angle. Sadly erosion and safety issues lead to these paths being removed and replaced with two vantage points that are really ordinary. They lack the drama that standing at the base looking up provides.

While I am sad at what has happened, at least I have good images taken before the change. The negatives need to be scanned and I will do that for a later post.

